Are you Lean, are you becoming Lean or do you do Lean things?

Is Lean something you are or something you do?

From my perspective (what other point can I make???) is Lean something we are trying to be. I think (and hope) that there will never be a time when I will answer a question with “Well, we have implemented Lean Software Development and boy, we are really Lean….and Agile!”. Instead, I really would say that yes, we are today implementing the ideas and thoughts of Lean Software Development and if you ask me in ten years from now, I will most likely answer the same – unless working with something else or the need for improving the business is gone…

I think that the only way to tell how successfull we are in implementing Lean or Agile is to look on how good we are in delivering business value to our customers… quickly, repeatedly and reliably…every time!

Cheers!
/ Johan

Leave a comment